mrsmarshallkd

what's happening in kd

November 12-15 November 12, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — mrsmarshallkd @ 12:48 am

Hello Parents,

We are getting ready for another great week in Kindergarten. First off, I would like to thank all of you for coming to parent teacher interviews. Thank you for all of your input and encouragement. It seems crazy, but there are only 5 more weeks until Christmas break! It will go by so fast, but I am looking forward to all of the fun and learning that will happen.

Here is what is on tap for the week:

We will be going through the big book, “Sing, Sing, Sing a Song” which is about a family of tigers and all of the things they do together. Our new sight word will be “the” and our letter will be M.

In Math we will work on the various ways of creating sets of 5 and will continue to work on subitation (recognizing  a set at a glance- as on a dice).

In science we have made some “discovery bottles”. These are plastic bottles filled with a variety of liquids and objects. We have a tornado bottle, an ocean scene bottle, and a rain bottle. We are hoping to create a wave bottle this week.

We will be learning some songs from the Maritimes, such as Lukey’s Boat, I’se the B’y, and Tell Me Ma. I am looking forward to this! I have been learning to play the ukulele and I am looking forward to playing along.

Dates to Remember:
Thursday- Teddy Bear Clinic (you should have received a note about this. If you didn’t, please let me know!)

Friday/Saturday- Christmas Craft Fair at Stratford Elementary

December 4- Christmas Concert (I am pretty sure it is at 4:30, but I will let you know for sure this week).

I think that’s about it for now! Have a great week!

Mrs. Marshall