mrsmarshallkd

Just another WordPress.com site

January 25-29 January 26, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — mrsmarshallkd @ 1:19 am

It’s been a pretty busy few weeks in our class. I thought I’d share some pictures of what’s been happening.

We’ve combined our Science and Kitchen Centres into one to create a Science Lab. We have magnet activities, 5 senses activities, and things to build robots with! It’s a fun place to be!

 

We had some fun marble painting, then we turned the painted paper into forest in winter for a bulletin board

We’ve been reading some books by Jan Brett, especially The Mitten and The Hat. One day, during quiet time after lunch, I showed them a video by Jan Brett about how to draw a hedgehog. Now, we have a classroom decorated with Hedgie!

______________________________________________________

Now on to this week:

We’re talking about:

-the number 7

-the sight words look, and, come

-the letters J and I

-and many, many other things!

I’m hoping to go sledding on Friday, but it’s not looking too promising right now. I have told the class that if we don’t get to go Friday, we will go the first day we can. Winter is long, I am sure we’ll get more snow before too long.

Guided Reading is going well, I hope you’re enjoying it as much as your children are. I want to remind everyone that our books need to be back by Thursday, Friday at the latest. We have a limited amount of guided reading books, and when we don’t get them back in time we can’t do some activities, and there aren’t enough books for the next group who may need them.

One question I get a lot is, “My child won’t be in today, is there anything we can do at home?” And my answer is almost always this: Give them paper and pencil/crayons/markers and have them write a story, or have them look for sight words in books. These are two very simple things that can happen pretty much anywhere!

Other than that, everything is great! If you have any questions or concerns, please let me know!

Mrs. Marshall

 

Leave a Reply

